Skip to main content

Reliable and Stable Transit of Energy

Organised by the Energy Charter Secretariat and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Turkmenistan

8-9 December 2014

Ashgabat Energy Charter Forum Report in English
Ashgabat Energy Charter Forum Report in Russian

On 9 December 2014, the Ashgabat Energy Charter Forum was held in the capital of Turkmenistan. The high-level conference on the topic of "Reliable and Stable Transit of Energy" was opened by the President of Turkmenistan Mr. Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedov and Dr. Urban Rusnák, Secretary General of the Energy Charter.

In his opening speech, President Berdimuhamedov underlined the importance of building a joint energy system on the basis of mutual benefits and equality. Energy security, diversification, sustainability and environmental protection were common objectives guiding nations in their cooperation. The President argued in favour of energy trade based on economically sound and objective criteria as well as fair and transparent prices, underlining in particular the role of the Energy Charter, which Turkmenistan would chair in 2017.

In his speech, Secretary General Rusnák confirmed the availability of the Energy Charter as the only existing comprehensive intergovernmental organisation based on a treaty with binding rules on energy investment and transit. He invited non-members to join this platform by signing the International Energy Charter at the Ministerial Conference in The Hague in May 2015.

Ministers and Vice-Ministers from Armenia, Croatia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Turkmenistan and, in a video message, the Vice-President of the European Commission Mr. Maroš Šefčovič further elaborated on the common benefits of cooperation based on interconnected systems for energy markets. These speakers were joined by high-level officials from China, Georgia, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, the OSCE and ECO.

Forum Programme

Forum Conclusions


Dr. Urban Rusnák
Secretary General, Energy Charter

Ivan Vrdoljak
Minister of Economy, Croatia

Maroš Šefčovič
Vice-President for the Energy Union, European Commission

Ervand Zaharyan
Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Armenia

Kubanychbek Turdubaev
Minister of Energy and Industry, Kyrgyzstan

Parviz Garibzade
Senior Adviser of the Minister of Energy, Azerbaijan