Skip to main content

Implementation Group

The Implementation Group, under the supervision of the Energy Charter Conference, is the institutional body for the discussion of the implementation of the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT). Its main tasks are:

  • Monitor and assist in the implementation of the Energy Charter Treaty and its related instruments and suggest recommendations on further steps to improve compliance.
  • Facilitate the discussion on promoting and securing cross-border energy flows based on the principles and provisions of the ECT and related instruments, including the elaboration of pertinent agreements.
  • Promote and facilitate the development of open, competitive and efficient markets and well-designed complementary policies and measures in order to remove potential obstacles to energy transit, sustainable energy investment, including energy efficiency, and access to energy. 
  • Facilitate the implementation and improvement of the investment protection under the ECT and related instruments.
  • Report to the Charter Conference on progress of implementation of the Energy Charter Treaty and the Protocol on Energy Efficiency and Related Environmental Aspects (PEEREA) every year. 
  • Review and discuss accession reports to the ECT.

Technical Subgroup on Transit

The Implementation Group at its meeting on 19 October 2017 approved:

  • to start work on a set of soft law instruments to address transit issues related to access to infrastructure, transit tariffs and update of Model Agreements within the Programme of Work for 2018-2019,
  • to continue policy dialogue on energy transit,
  • to establish a technical subgroup to support the Implementation Group on transit issues.

The Energy Charter Conference at its 28th Meeting held on 28-29 November 2017 in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan, invited the delegations to designate relevant entities to the technical sub-group to support the Implementation Group on transit issues (see Conference Decision CCDEC 201711).


Chair: Ms Klara Rakhmetova (Qazaqstan)

Vice-Chair: Mr Johan Vetlesen (Norway)

Vice-Chair: Mr Aziz Khamidov (Uzbekistan)