Skip to main content

Energy Charter Conference

 The Energy Charter Conference, an inter-governmental organisation, is the governing and decision-making body for the Energy Charter process, and was established by the 1994 Energy Charter Treaty.

All states or Regional Economic Integration Organisations who have signed or acceded to the Treaty are members of the Conference, which meets on a regular basis to discuss issues affecting energy cooperation among the Treaty's signatories, to review the implementation of the provisions of the Energy Charter Treaty and the Protocol on Energy Efficiency and Related Environmental Aspects, and to consider possible new instruments and joint activities within the Energy Charter framework.

Mongolia assumed the Chairmanship of the Energy Charter Conference for the year 2022. 

Conference Chair: Mr. Choijilsuren Battogtokh (Mongolia) 

Conference Vice-Chair: Mr Bayarmagnai Myagmarsuren (Mongolia)

Conference Vice-Chair:  Mr Hakob Vardanyan (Armenia)

Conference Vice-Chair:  Mr. Sherzod Khodjaev (Uzbekistan)


Management Committee

The Management Committee (CCDEC2021 16) does not detract from the Conference’s standing as the sole decision-making body, but shall provide its opinion and/or proposal and/or recommendation to the Conference and/or Chair of the Conference on any question or issue within its competence. The Management Committee should meet periodically (at least 3 times per year) at the invitation of the Chair and the outgoing Chairmanship of the Conference. The Chair of the Conference and the Vice-Chair of the outgoing Chairmanship will co-Chair the meetings. The Management Committee shall be assisted by the Secretariat as needed.

The Management Committee should be composed of:

  • The Chair of the Conference;
  • One representative of each the outgoing and incoming Chairmanships as Vice-Chairs;
  • The Chairs of the subsidiary groups;
  • Two representatives from the EU and a representative from each non-EU Contracting Party that contributes more than 10% of the budget;
  • In addition, up to five Contracting Parties (CP’s) allowing different geographical representation. CP’s could nominate their representative to this body who will be confirmed/elected by the Conference by consensus for a 3 years term. The composition should take into account regional balances in order to maintain and raise the awareness of all CP’s toward ECT, and ensure the effectiveness of the Committee’s work;




Past Chairmanships