Skip to main content

Two Nominees for the Energy Charter Award 2019

This year, the Energy Charter Secretariat has received two nominations for the Energy Charter Award. The Award was introduced in 2013 in order to recognise the outstanding role of individuals and entities in the development of the Energy Charter Process. The first recipient of the award was former Prime Minister of The Netherlands, Mr Ruud Lubbers (1939 - 2018), the founding father of the Energy Charter Process.

For 2019, the first nominee is Mr Shukhrat Khamidov, Chief Expert, International Organization CDC Energia (Uzbekistan). Mr Khamidov has been an active Energy Charter delegate since 2001 and served as a Vice Chair of the Investment Group in 2005-2012. He took part in the development of the RECA Declaration in 2007 and the In-depth Report on Investment Climate in Uzbekistan.

The second nominee is HE Eng. Hala Zawati, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, (Jordan). Since taking office in June 2018, Minister Zawati has attached very high importance to the Energy Charter file and for the accession process of Jordan to the ECT and personally supported all activities and actions to facilitate the accession to the ECT.

The voting period will be from 1 August till 31 October inclusive.