Skip to main content

Nigeria signs the International Energy Charter

On 7 March 2017, the International Energy Charter welcomed its newest member as Nigeria signed the International Energy Charter signalling a historic day for Nigeria’s energy community. The event took place at the State House in Abuja in a high-level ceremony chaired, on behalf of the Vice President H.E. Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, by the Hon. Minister for Justice and Attorney General Dr Abubakar Malami. 

The text was signed by the Hon. Minister of Science and Technology, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, in the presence of the Dutch Ambassador Mr John Groffen, given the Kingdom of the Netherlands is the depository country of the International Energy Charter. Senior national officials were on hand and included Hon. Ms Beni Lar, Chair of the Committee on Science and Technology at the National Assembly and Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige. Goodwill messages were made by the Ambassador of Japan, H.E. Sadanobu Kusaoke, and the EU Deputy Head of Mission, H.E. Richard Young. Furthermore, Prof ELi Jedere Bala, Director General of the Nigeria Energy Commission unveiled the National Energy Summit, a new flagship project in collaboration with the Energy Charter Secretariat. The Energy Charter Secretary General Dr Urban Rusnák, who also spoke on behalf of the Turkmenistan's Chairmanship, expressed his deepest gratitude to the Nigerian authorities, country representatives, government officials and international organisations for having contributed to the success of the signing ceremony, a new milestone in the Energy Charter Process.


Also see:

Programme of Events

Speech by Attorney General and Minister of Justice of Nigeria 

Speech by Minister of Science and Technology Nigeria

Speech by Director General CEO Nigeria Energy Commission.pdf

Address of the Chairman of the Energy Charter Conference

Opening Remarks by the Secretary General of the International Energy Charter

Speech by Director Energy ECOWAS Commission.pdf

Speech on behalf of Japan  

Speech on behalf of the Netherlands