Skip to main content

Meetings of the Energy Charter Conference

The Energy Charter Conference, an inter-governmental organisation, is the governing and decision-making body for the Energy Charter process, and was established by the 1994 Energy Charter Treaty.

All states or Regional Economic Integration Organisations who have signed or acceded to the Treaty are members of the Conference, which meets on a regular basis to discuss issues affecting energy cooperation among the Treaty's signatories, to review the implementation of the provisions of the Energy Charter Treaty and the Protocol on Energy Efficiency and Related Environmental Aspects, and to consider possible new instruments and joint activities within the Energy Charter framework.

For 2018, the Chairman of the Energy Charter Conference was assumed by Mr. Robert TUDORACHE, State Secretary, Ministry of Energy, Romania. In 2019, Albania will chair the Energy Charter Conference.

There are three Vice-Chairs of the Energy Charter Conference for 2018:

  • Ms. Elena POPESCU, ‎Director General, ‎Ministry of Energy (Romania)
  • Mr. Vepa HAJIYEV, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs (Turkmenistan)
  • Ms. Dorina CINARI, Deputy Minister of Energy and Industry (Albania)

Past Chairmanships