Skip to main content

Kenya becomes a new Signatory of the International Energy Charter

The Republic of Kenya has joined the International Energy Charter following its signature by the Honourable Charles Keter, EGH, Cabinet Secretary for Energy and Petroleum, in a ceremony held on 20 March 2017 at the Energy Charter Secretariat in Brussels, which was also attended by H.E. Johnson Weru Ambassador of Kenya, H.E. Ata Serdarov Ambassador of Turkmenistan, H.E. Wepke Kingma Ambassador of the Netherlands,  H.E. Mirjam Blaak Ambassador of Uganda, H.E. Olivier Nduhungirehe Ambassador of Rwanda and the Energy Charter Secretary General Dr Urban Rusnák. The Secretary General of Africa, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States Dr Patrick Gomes was represented by Mr Henrique Manze.


The Hon. Charles Keter emphasised the great potential of energy generation to meet national demand, the need to promote renewable energy and ensure regional interconnectivity with Ethiopia and countries from the East African Community (EAC). The construction of a crude oil pipeline from northern Kenya to the coast is another priority for the country. The signature of the International Energy Charter reflects Kenya’s commitment to pursue its national energy objectives according to international standards on investment promotion and protection. Indeed, as a new observer country to the Energy Charter, Kenya is getting involved in key issues on investment, cross-border trade and transit that will shape the global energy architecture.

Kenya is the 83rd signatory of the International Energy Charter. EAC countries Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and EAC as a whole, are already signatories. The increasing participation of African countries and regions in the Energy Charter Process is not surprising considering the important efforts needed to mobilise investment, eradicate energy poverty and strengthen new emerging economies in the continent.