Skip to main content

Bosnia and Herzegovina signs the International Energy Charter

On 1 March 2016, H.E. Mr. Mirko Šarović, Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations, Vice Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina signed the International Energy Charter at a signing ceremony at the Energy Charter Secretariat in Brussels.

Bosnia and Herzegovina is the seventy second signatory of  the International Energy Charter which was adopted in May 2015 at a Ministerial Conference in The Hague. This morning’s signing ceremony was also attended by H.E Ms. Lidija Topić, the Ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the European Union, and by Ms. Wampie Libon-van der Wal of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands that is the depository of the International Energy Charter.

The Secretary General, Dr. Urban Rusnák, welcomed the signature by Bosnia and Herzegovina of the new International Energy Charter and remarked on the country’s long involvement with the Energy Charter.  Bosnia and Herzegovina was one of the original signatories of the Energy Charter Treaty of 1994 which it formally ratified in 2001.