Skip to main content

Armenia assumes the Chairmanship of the Energy Charter Conference for 2021

As of 1 January 2021, Armenia assumed the Chairmanship of the Energy Charter Conference for one year. The Conference works on an annually rotating basis, and each year a new country takes over leadership to direct the highest decision-making body of the Energy Charter process


The International Energy Charter would like to welcome the new Energy Charter Conference Chair, Mr Gnel Sanosyan, Minister of Territorial Administration and Infrastructure of the Republic of Armenia who was nominated by the Armenian Government. The Government also nominated the current Deputy Minister of Territorial Administration and Infrastructure, Mr Hakob Vardanyan, to serve as Vice Chair.

Heeding rapid developments in the energy world and defined priorities, Armenia has expressed interest in promoting the energy transition and creating pathways for fostering a climate-neutral energy industry, in line with the commitments to Paris Agreement.

The priorities for Armenia in 2021 are aimed at facilitating free and diversified energy markets, promoting renewable energy and energy efficiency, strengthening policies for sustainable development, improving energy integration and ensuring reliable, innovative, digitised and affordable energy supplies.

These topics will be the focus for the 32nd Ministerial Meeting of the Energy Charter Conference to be held in Yerevan on 14-15 December 2021. Under the Chairmanship, Armenia will also host the International Energy Charter Forum in 2021.