Skip to main content

Modernisation Group

At its last meeting of 2017, the Strategy Group established a Subgroup on Modernisation to conduct discussions on the potential modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty. On 11 September 2019, the Strategy Group acknowledged the successful completion of the discussions on the potential modernisation of the ECT and subsequently decided to dissolve the Subgroup. 

On 6 November 2019 (see Conference Decision CCDEC201910), the Energy Charter Conference established and mandated the Modernisation Group to start negotiations on the modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty, with a view to conclude negotiations expeditiously. On 16 December 2020, the Modernisation Group  reported to the  Conference on progress made in fulfilling the negotiations mandate (see Conference Decision CCDEC202016). 

Modernisation Group Chairpersons

Chair: Mr Lukas Stifter (Austria)

Vice-Chair: Mr Akiyoshi Kawabata (Japan)

Vice-Chair: Mr Guy Lentz (Luxembourg)

Vice-Chair: Mr Samir Abdurahimov (Azerbaijan)

Vice-Chair: Mr. Felix Imhof (Switzerland)