Skip to main content

Subsidiary Bodies of the Energy Charter Conference

The Energy Charter Conference has created various subsidiary bodies, which report to the Conference and deal with particular issues in greater detail.

Strategy Group

Chair: Mr Elshan Abdulazimov (Azerbaijan)

Vice-Chair: Vacant

The Energy Charter Conference at its meeting on 9 December 2009 in Rome decided to establish the Energy Charter Strategy Group as a standing group. Among the key subjects of discussion will be the role of the Energy Charter Process in the global context, its added value for addressing common challenges as well as the possible enlargement of its constituency.

Modernisation Group

Chair: Mr Lukas Stifter (Austria)

On 6 November 2019 (CCDEC201910), the Energy Charter Conference established and mandated the Modernisation Group to start negotiations on the modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty, with a view to conclude negotiations expeditiously. At its Ad Hoc meeting on 24 June 2022, the Energy Charter Conference confirmed the Agreement in principle on the modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty. The Conference expects to meet ad hoc in April 2023 to finalise the discussions on the adoption of the amendments to the ECT and to decide on the dissolving the Modernisation Group.

Working Group on Governance Issues

Chair: Ms Klara Rakhmetova (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chair: Mr Towfick Sufian (Yemen)

At its 30th Meeting held on 10 December 2019, the Energy Charter Conference established the Working Group on Governance Issues.

Implementation Group

Chair: Ms Klara Rakhmetova (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chair: Mr Johan Vetlesen (Norway)

Vice-Chair: Mr Aziz Khamidov (Uzbekistan)

The Implementation Group, under the supervision of the Energy Charter Conference, is the institutional body for the discussion of the implementation of the Energy Charter Treaty.

At its last meeting of 2017, the Implementation Group established a technical subgroup to facilitate the  discussions on transit issues. The Subgroup on Transit was dissolved in September 2019 and transit issues will continue to be discussed by the Implementation Group.  

Budget Committee

Chair: Mr Christian Bühlmann (Switzerland)

Vice-Chair: Vacant

The functions and duties of the Budget Committee are, in general, to advise the Energy Charter Conference as necessary on questions relating to the financial administration of the Secretariat and the Programme of Work, as well as to carry out the tasks allotted to it in the Financial Regulations.

Legal Advisory Committee

Chair: On 10 December 2019 the Energy Charter Conference agreed that the Chair of the Legal Advisory Committee will be decided ad hoc by the members of the LAC.

The Energy Charter Conference decided that a sub-group of the Conference, to be known as the Legal Advisory Committee, will be needed to provide legal advice to the Chairman of the Conference and to Working Group Chairs.